College or University Research Grant


Grants of up to $1,500.00 for research expenses are available for Kentucky advanced doctoral students, or college/university faculty members in carrying out a literacy research project in the state of Kentucky. Advanced doctoral students should be through their qualifying exams and in the proposal writing phase in order to apply. NOTE: No indirect costs can be taken by the University for this grant-award. This grant is awarded directly to the faculty member or advanced doctoral student, not the university.


Any Kentucky advanced doctoral student, college/university faculty member who is a member of the Kentucky Reading Association.


Applications due: 5:00 PM EST on March 31, 2020

Grants awarded: April 2020

Grant implementation: 2020-2021

Please download and complete the Detailed Project Description Template before submitting your application

Detailed Project Description Template

An upload of your current vita is required.

If this is a faculty-initiated research project, an IRB confirmation to conduct the proposed research project is required.

Judging Criteria

Winning research proposals will be judged by the following criteria:

  • Rational for the research;
  • Convincing connection to state literacy needs;
  • Clear connection to KRA goals;
  • Strength and sensitivity of methods and data collection procedures;
  • Feasibility of study, including sensible timeline

Completion and Research Report/Synthesis

Upon completion of the research project, the grant recipient is required to send a written report or research synthesis detailing the findings, implications, and future areas of research. The report should also include a section for reflection for the grant recipient to share limitations or lessons learned from the research project. If a written report is not received, the doctoral student or faculty member will be ineligible for future grant funding.

All sections of this form must be completed. Incomplete applications will NOT be considered or reviewed by the Awards Committee.